albums  |  puntarock albums 
    The Garifuna Collective - Ayó
It's a resilient, groovy, somewhat more modern expression of Garifuna culture. --
It has been six years since Andy Palacio & The Garifuna Collective released Wátina, an album that received unanimous acclaim and elevated the international profile of the music and culture of Central America’s Afro-Amerindian Garifuna community. On the cusp of tremendous fame, Palacio passed away suddenly at the age of 47 not long after Wátina was released, leaving many to wonder who would continue bringing the voice of his people to the world.

STR033 : $14.00 USD      
   Songs    click a song to hear a sample
1. Ayó,   2. Galuma,   3. Kame Báwara,   4. Ubóu,   5. Mongulu,   6. Pomona,   7. Beíba Nuwari,   8. Gudemei,   9. Dungua,   10. Aganba,   11. Alagan,   12. Seremei Buguya,   
   The Story


Photo by: Peter Rakossy
Andy Palacio & The Garifuna Collective's 2007 album Wátina is one of the most praised world music albums ever released, and was selected by as the Greatest World Music Album of All Time (beating out Buena Vista Social Club, Bob Marley, Fela Kuti and other worthy contenders). On the cusp of tremendous fame, Andy passed away suddenly a year after Wátina was released, leaving the world to wonder just how big he could have become.

His band has continued where Andy left off, and with Wátina producer Ivan Duran of Stonetree back at the helm, have produced the album Ayó, a soul-stirring collection of songs inspired by their unique Afro-Amerindian cultural heritage. With a lineup that consists of the best musicians in the fertile Garifuna music scene of Belize, Honduras and Guatemala, The Garifuna Collective promises to carry the torch of cultural preservation and promotion passed on by Andy Palacio far into the future. The Garifuna Collective's songs of heartbreak, hope and joy will move your body and your soul.

Download the Press Release & read the whole story.

[See Digital Booklet]

Produced by Ivan Duran Recorded and Mixed at Stonetree Studios, Belize by Al Ovando & Ivan Duran Studio Assistant: Michael Zuniga Mastered by Lane Gibson Album Photography: Peter Rakossy / Twin Planet / The Listen Project Additional Photography: Joan Duran Liner notes: Jacob Edgar Art Direction: Ivan Duran Graphic Design: Tim O’Malley All songs arranged by The Garifuna Collective Published by Stonetree Music / Cumbancha Publishing

Special thanks to: Katia Paradis, Danny Michel, Doctor Garry at Twin Planet and the Listen Project, Brent Toombs, Dr. Loius Zabaneh at Galen University. Jules Vazques, Chris Sorensen, Phil Nicholas, The village of Hopk ins, The National Institute of Culture and History (NICH), Joan Duran at 501 Art Projects., Roy Cayetano, Dr. Joseph Palacio, Yasser Musa at The Image Factory, Aurelio Martinez, Raquel Battle, Jacob Edgar and Drew Brinckerhoff at Cumbancha, Drew Gonlasves and Kobo Town, Peter Rakossy, Matthew Klink, Tim O’Malley, Montserrat Casademunt, Shirlene Torres, Lillian Vazques, Edson Menjibar at Stonetree & Cubola Productions, Kami Palacio and The Andy Palacio Foundation.

This album is dedicated to the memory of: Andy Palacio, Giovani Chi, Justo Miranda, Juni Aranda and Charlie Gillett.
    The Garifuna Collective "Mongulu"

view cart
©2017 Stonetree Records. All rights reserved.
site design | tim omalley